Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on Online Learning

The University of Illinois Springfield‘s Center for Online Learning, Research and Service is organizing a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on Online Learning Today…and Tomorrow!

It is free. It is non-commercial. It is an open opportunity to collaborate. Here are a few more of the details:

What: What exactly is a MOOC and how is it different from other forms of online learning? These two brief, but informative videos by Dave Cormier introduce what a MOOC is and defines what ‘success’ is in a MOOC:

When: Registration is Free and Open now! The course runs 6/27 – 8/20, 2011

Live Webinar panel discussions every Thursday 2p EDT, 1p CDT, Noon MDT, 11a PDT beginning with the first session on June 30. Jason Rhode, Assistant Director of the Faculty Development and Instructional Design Center, will be a panelist for the August 11 virtual session.

Where: http://sites.google.com/site/edumooc is the home/resource site. Discussions for those who register will be hosted by Google Group eduMOOC

Twitter hashtag is #edumooc

Diigo tag is edumooc to share additional resources

Why: To learn, collaborate and network with interesting and knowledgeable colleagues. An article about this open online course was featured in The Chronicle of Higher Education blog.

To Participate: Simply register with an email address at http://sites.google.com/site/edumooc to join in this worldwide collaborative event!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *