Screenshot of beginning of first gif tutorial

Did You Know…..? Ensuring the Blackboard Collaborate Recordings will be Processed and Easily Shared with Students

NIU faculty and instructors have been using Blackboard Collaborate, the web conferencing tool, to conduct live synchronous sessions for a number of years. One outstanding feature is the ability to record and share a session with students. However, there are important guidelines to follow to ensure the session recording is properly prepared (including guaranteeing that the encoding process is unhindered) and the recording is subsequently shared with students.

Encoding simply means that the recording is converted to a specific video file format that can be viewed online. One possible issue with a recording failing to properly encode is that one or more participants have not left the session. Encoding will not commence until all participants have left session. Therefore, it is essential that the moderator/instructor confirm that this is the case. To ensure this, please follow these steps:

  1. Once the moderator has stopped the recording and intends to end the session, ensure that all participants have left the session.
  2. Click on the Open Collaborate Panel tab in the lower right-hand corner, and click on the Attendees icon to determine if anyone is still in the session.
  3. If one or more participants remain, remove the participant(s) by clicking on the kabob (three dots in a circle) on the right-hand side of their name. Click the “Remove from session” link in the drop-down menu.
  4. After all attendees have left or been removed, the moderator can leave the session.

Participants may remain in the session because they have questions for the instructor. However, occasionally, they may walk away from their desktop, laptop, or mobile device having forgotten to exit the session. The recording will not begin the encoding process until everyone has left the session.

The following animated GIF cycles through these steps to help you see them in action:

Visual tutorial illustrating the steps to removing participants from a Blackboard Collaborate session
Removing Participants from Collaborate Sessions

Once the recording encoding process is complete, faculty can share the Collaborate session recording with students within the Blackboard course. Faculty can offer a quick, reliable, and easy way for students to access the recording by following this sequence of steps.

Original Course View

  1. If using Blackboard Original Course View, click the Tools in the menu of the Blackboard course (or click the Collaborate tool link if you have one in the left-hand course navigation menu and then skip to step 3).
  2. Click Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
  3. Click the three lines in the top, left corner of the screen on the Sessions line.
  4. Click Recordings.
  5. Click the three dots in the circle at the end of the session name that you want to post in the course.
  6. Click Copy link.
  7. Go to the location in the course where you want to post the session recording.
  8. Select Build Content on the top menu of the page.
  9. Click Web Link.
    1. Paste the url into the url box, give the link a name, click submit.
    2. The recording will then be available in the specific area of the course where you post the link.
  10. Alternatively, students can access the list of recordings available in the course by following the first 4 steps on this list and then selecting the recording that they want to watch.

The following animated GIF cycles through these steps to help you see them in action:

Visual tutorial illustrating the instructions for sharing a Blackboard Collaborate recording in an Original View Course

ULTRA Course View

  1. If using the Blackboard ULTRA Course View, under the Details & Action menu, click the kabob (three dots) beside the Blackboard Collaborate link.
  2. In the pop-up menu, click the “View all recordings” link.
  3. Click the kabob (three dots in the circle) located to the right of the session name recording that you want to post in the course.
  4. In the drop-down menu, select Copy link.
  5. To share the recording, click on the “Plus” sign in the Course Content area you would like students to access it, and then click the Create link.
  6. To post the URL of the recording, click on Link.
  7. Label the new link.
  8. Paste the URL of the session recording in the Link URL box, and add a description if you wish.
  9. Click the Save button.
  10. Make the recording link visible to students.

The following animated GIF cycles through these steps to help you see them in action:

Visual tutorial of instructions for how to share a Blackboard Collaborate recording in an Ultra View Course

You can find more information about this and other new features to Blackboard Collaborate on the Release Notes for Collaborate Ultra webpage.

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *